January review #2: A tool for the dreamer

Export_02

I am always on the look out for books like this one.  I have been having dreams of all kinds since I was a small child but learning to “interpret” them has always been scary since most books written are from a secular and/or pagan perspective….which can sometimes be a gateway into a spiritual realm that I care not to enter.  So, let me simplify this a bit by giving you the pros and cons about this book:

Cons:  Sometimes I feel like the authors approach certain subjects with an unnecessary air of controversy.  I was sometimes distracted by the shock of a statement only to continue reading and find out I agreed with them….at least most of the time.  This kind of approach may be needed for some people, but I found it distracting.  I also wish that there was a little more time spent on the how-to of recording dreams and identifying the “theme” of a dream. (Especially since the authors have extensive experience with this gift.) ….but then, I am an extreme detail person, always wanting thorough explanation of such concepts and you may feel their approach is perfect.

Pros: That being said, what I really appreciate about this book is the authors’ many references to the absolute necessity of knowing the Word of God BEFORE ever trying to interpret a dream, how key it is that the concepts of any interpretation MUST coincide with Scripture if it can be given any weight at all, and how learning these skills is, first and foremost, an exercise in discerning the voice of the Holy Spirit.  I also love their simple presentation of the dream symbol dictionary.  I love that they give the Scripture references that led them to most of the interpretations of the symbols. (Although I do wish they had included the “names and places” portion in the main dictionary for those of us using this tool on an eReader or tablet.)

All in all, this is a wonderful tool for the “seer” or “dreamer” who is keenly aware that dreams are more than just something that keeps our minds busy during the night.  I am thrilled to add it to my library.  I think it’s a worthy addition and decently easy to read.  I was challenged on many levels and blessed.  I look forward to using this tool as I seek a greater understanding of this gift I have enjoyed throughout my life.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this E-Book free from the publisher through Destiny Image Book Review Program. <http://www.destinyimage.com> Book Review Program. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

