Bread Pudding in a Pinch

Img_4733

The other day I was craving breakfast for dinner and, more specifically, French toast.  But with about 1 1/2 hours until the kids needed to be getting ready for bed I was in no position to make that happen!  Not to mention I only had 4 slices of bread….which I think my son alone would've easily consumed! So, I just dove right into "making-it-up-as-I-go-along" mode and this was the result.  I'm happy to say that it was a hit with the whole family. (Even my husband who claimed to not be a fan of bread pudding!) Oh, and I even got the kids to bed at a decent hour! Yay!  

 
***Note: I made this with half vanilla soy milk and half vanilla coconut milk and it turned out delicious! Also, it reheats in the microwave quite nicely, although it is always better fresh. 😉

Ingredients:

3 eggs
1 cup milk(soy, coconut or almond for non-dairy options)
3 tsp cinnamon
1/4-1/2 tsp nutmeg
2 tsp vanilla extract
4 slices of your favorite sandwich bread, approx 1 inch cubed
Maple syrup
Powdered confectioner's sugar

Directions:
Preheat oven to 450 degrees
Put eggs, milk, cinnamon, nutmeg and vanilla in a medium mixing bowl and beat well
Place cubed bread in 3+ inch deep baking dish
Pour egg mixture over bread and stir until coated; Set aside for about 5 minutes to allow bread to soak up egg mixture
Cover and place in oven for 20-30 minutes or until bread puffs up and egg is mostly cooked. 
Remove lid and cook about 5 more minutes until tips of bread are lightly browned
Drizzle with maple syrup and sprinkle with a little confectioner's sugar
Best if served hot and fresh.
Makes approx 4-6 servings

Leave a Reply

