Dairy Free, Gluten Free Chocolate Peanut Butter Cookies

Pb_cookies

Ok, so before you turn your nose up at these cookies you simply MUST try them. 

I am always on a quest for the perfect cookie as in my family I am famous for my chocolate chip cookies. When we discovered that my baby girl was lactose intolerant, that quest became more of a mission to satisfy my sweet-tooth without making her sick. So imagine my excitement when my friend shared this recipe with me! Suddenly my plain ol’ cookie recipe (you know, the one on the back of the yellow chocolate chip bag????)  was all but retired because this recipe is ridiculously simple and so yummy. Beware, you may not have any leftovers…..unless you make a double batch like I always do! 

It literally takes about 5 minutes to throw the batter together, no mixer required, has only 5 ingredients, and can easily be modified about a million different ways for variety.  Did I mention they are so good you’ll have a hard time not eating the whole batch??  As a way of warning, these are very sweet so they are a perfect match with bitter tea or even coffee.

They take a little longer in the oven than some cookies so I like to use my half sheet baking pan so I only need to do 2 or 3 rounds in the oven.  Their texture will vary depending on what kind of peanut butter you use.  Here are some examples:

Natural or fresh ground pb=very crumbly and light in flavor
JIF or Skippy (creamy)=a little crumbly on the outside and chewy in the center
For a little more chocolately flavor try 1/2 peanut butter 1/2 Nutella
My favorite thing to do is 1/2 JIF, 1/2 natural. They come out chewy but crumbly and almost melt in your mouth. Mmmmm, yummy!

***Note: To ensure they are gluten free and dairy free(if those are an issue for your family) make sure to use gluten free items like baking soda(I’ve been told Arm and Hammer is a good option), and peanut butter(I’m told Adam’s) and dairy free chocolate chips(which many of the store brands are). 

Hope you enjoy them!

Ingredients:
1 egg, slightly beaten
1 cup peanut butter
3/4 cup granulated sugar
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
3/4 cup chocolate chips

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350
In a small-medium mixing bowl lightly beat egg with a fork or wisk, until just smoothly combined 
Add in the rest of the ingredients and stir with a wooden spoon until well combined.
Place on cookie sheet about 1-2 inches apart 
Bake on center rack for 12-14 minutes or until lightly brown and texture appears dry; let cool on sheet 5 minutes before transferring to cooling rack
The texture is best fresh but they keep well in an air tight container.

Enjoy! …..no really, that’s all there is to it! 🙂

One thought on “Dairy Free, Gluten Free Chocolate Peanut Butter Cookies

Leave a Reply

