Japanese Pickled Vegetables(Tsukemono)

In keeping with my family’s unique tastes, I thought I would share another favorite Japanese dish.  We almost always have some in or refrigerator for snacking on or any number of other uses.

Many traditional Japanese meals include at least one little dish of “tsukemono”, otherwise known as pickled vegetables or simply a side dish of prepared vegetables.  My husband is a sucker for any dish that includes onions. So when my master-of-the-kitchen-mother-in-law introduced us to this recipe my husband made sure she taught me how to make it.  It has quickly become a staple in our household, and, true to form, I have found about a million yummy ways to use it besides just “tsukemono”. šŸ™‚

Img_4697

 

Enjoy!
Ingredients:
2 medium onions, thinly sliced
3 heaping tsp granulated sugar
1/2 tsp salt
3/4 cup white vinegar
3/4 to 1 cup sesame oil
1/2 cup mirin(sweet cooking sake)
1/2 cup sake
1/2 cup soy sauce 

Directions:
Slice onions and let them rest at room temperature for about 40 minutes.(I’m told this is to allow the sulfuric acid/gases escape, the gases that make your eyes water, but I cannot confirm this.)
Place rested onions in sealable container and add the remaining ingredients.
Carefully mix and slightly compress onions to ensure they are covered by the liquids.
Seal container and refrigerate for at least 1 hour before eating.

Serve as a small side dish or try pouring some over chicken breasts and baking it for a tangy, sweet and very moist chicken dish!

Leave a Reply

